Pikes Peak with Wade & Sam

When you have visitors from Florida, you HAVE to take them to see the sights, right?!  What good Colorado host wouldn’t take sea-level dwelling Floridians up to 14,000 ft?!

We went up with our coats and jackets, hoping to be ready for the temperatures on the peak.  Somehow, no matter how much you plan, I don’t think you’re ever ready for that.  The -4 wind chill should have given us a clue.  🙂

We stopped at the Crystal Lake Reservoir and Tarah loved the Big Foot that was there.  He wasn’t all that menacing…She could have taken him.

Saskwatch say HI

Had fun with these little view finder thingies around.   It was a very helpful tool in my quest to not take the average image.  

Really, really wanted to see this snow ledge fall!  Wade said I didn’t want to see the avalanche, but I secretly did.  Blame it on my ignorance of what damage an avalanche can cause.

Tarah and I waiting in line for the ONE, unisex bathroom for many Pikes Peak visitors feeling the effects of altitude on their bladder.

We didn’t get to share the very special donuts that are made up on the summit from a special recipe.  Instead, I got this little bobble head bear to pose for me.

Coyotes and Moose and Bears, OH MY!

Yes, there were skiiers!!  I couldn’t believe people were skiing down this mountain!  Those who love me know I have a horrible fear of heights.   After my bad roller-blade-stopping-with-my-bootie incident years ago, I don’t even want to think about skiing down a mountain!

Here comes my faves…signs almost completely covered by the snow.

This one is a mile marker.

Can you see?  This one is mangled by a snow plow.  🙂

Poor Tarah and Wade were going crazy with this sign…DO NOT WHAT???!!!!

Here’s my fave mile marker sign…

We got up to mile 18;  as far as they’d let us go.  They’re still plowing the last mile I see.

Yes, we did feel a bit spacey.  It was soooo cold, but Sam and Wade still found the strength to play around in the snow and rocks.  Tarah and I stayed in the car.  (where it was warm)

I enjoyed this sign about certain interesting facts about those who have summited Pikes Peak.  I recently watched an episode Dr. Quinn Medicine Woman where she befriended an older woman who climbed up the mountain in bloomers.  🙂  Very cool to see the real one.

Best pic of the day:  Sam with the coin that says “Real Women Don’t Need Guard Rails!”

7 responses to “Pikes Peak with Wade & Sam

  1. Okay so my favorites were the signs. It makes sense that Tarah and Wade both would be troubled by the “do not…” sign. They must have all the details!!!

  2. I’ve survived African winding mountain roads with no guard rails, but I do prefer having them. (How does that affect my womanhood, I wonder?) And I never would have known that the altitude would affect my bladder! (Well, I guess I did have that emergency stop recently in Swaziland…) Anyway, these are fantastic photos. You’ve really taken us there. I must admit that I share your secret desire to see the snow ledge fall, but the avalanche certainly would have been terrifying.

    What a spectacular weekend getaway! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you so much for your comment! African winding mountain roads…you got me beat!

Leave a comment